Jordan Year

I’m entering my Jordan year, a little scared.

If I’m being completely honest,  I’d say that, I’m terrified. There are so many emotions that I have, regarding the end of my 22nd year. 22 was bright, and yet painful. I reunited with friends-lost but not forgotten. I discovered the power of self reliance. I experienced the fear of a new state, new city, and no family or friends. I cemented my adult life with Marissa. I embraced my mental health problems, and seeked help, but also learned to self-soothe. Nonetheless, the impending arrival of 23, is frightening.

image

I feel a little lost. Today I am 22, and 364 days old. And tomorrow I’ll be 23. I don’t expect to suddenly feel “found” tomorrow. I think that comes with time. I didn’t accomplish everything I wanted in year 22, but I am grateful for another shot, another year to continually keep pushing and accomplishing my goals.

I hope and pray that 23, is similar to 22. Am I scared? Absolutely, but I refuse to dread my 23rd year of life. Instead I am embracing, another year of happiness and love. I’m making a commitment to myself and to God: to love deeper, show my gratefulness, and to be comfortable, with myself.  Taylor Swift be damned- 23 is going to be better than 22.

Leave a comment